Tags

, ,

grapefruit yogurt slice

Saw this cake on Joy the Baker and Smitten Kitchen a while ago and adapted it to make grapefruit cupcakes sans the yogurt. But this week, picked up some yogurt from Trader Joe’s only to realize, much to my dismay, that it was vanilla flavoured. Now don’t get me wrong, I like vanilla, in cupcakes, in cake, in ice cream, in frosting… but when I crave yogurt (like I did on Monday), I want yogurt that’s tart, plain, simple … not creamy vanilla yogurt. I must really learn to read labels better. So as I perused my “recipes-to-try” list (which, might I just add, is growing infinitely large and my no-standing-mixer hands cannot quite bake fast enough), I thought what better way to use up vanilla yogurt then to use it in yogurt cake!

grapefruit yogurt cake

The cake turned out way denser than I anticipated. And since we were in such a hurry to eat it, we didn’t allow for them to cool off quite enough, so my icing attempt was pretty much doomed from the get go. Although icing disaster aside, the cake was pretty delicious and it might actually be even better today, after sitting in the refrigerater.

grapfruit yogurt cake 2

Recipe adapted from Joy the Baker, via The Greyston Bakery Cookbook

