Tags

, ,

apple tart

I heart apple pie, it’s simple, fuss-free, delicious, just the perfect balance of sugary and buttery goodness. Actually, I love most desserts that involve apples – apple crisp, apple muffins, apple crumble.This Simplest Apple Tart is from Smitten Kitchen (though Deb’s looks much better than mine), and it is originally “from Alice Waters, [who] says that it was actually Jacques Pepin who created it at Chez Panisse more than 20 years ago”, which means, by default, it must be AWESOME (and it was!!).

I didn’t have a tart pan, so I made a galette instead. Here is the pre-baked galette:

apple tart

 

And post-oven browned goodness:

apple tart

apple tart

And it smells SO good in the oven – I was baking while Steve was cleaning the apartment and that must have been the best cleaning experience he ever had. But it is even better once it was done, all buttery and crisp and sweet!

