Tags

, , ,

lemons

One of the biggest reasons I would love to go back to California is the food. Fresh produce everywhere at farmer’s markets and grocery stores (I heart you Berkeley Bowl!) – I mean, the sight of plums, nectarines and peaches of all colours and sizes lining the produce aisle, brussel sprouts on the stem, eight different kinds of sprouts and pumpkins that are reasonable priced (the pumpkins at Cold Storage are $33SGD)!!! And meyer lemons, I love meyer lemons – they are great for everything: baked goods, juice, fish, chicken… And so today, reminiscing about the Berks, I thought I’d bake a little lemon loaf.

lemon blueberry loaf

This is really a lemon blueberry buttermilk loaf. I used a recipe from Smitten Kitchen for lemon yoghurt cake but had no yoghurt, so I substituted with buttermilk instead. Though I do think it’d be much better with yoghurt (it adds more of that tartness) and a little more sugar. The loaf needed a generous sprinkling of powdered sugar and A. insisted on putting those little melty rice balls on the top of the loaf!

lemon blueberry loaf 2

And what’s kind of ridiculous? Every single time I type Lemon Blueberry Loaf, I end up typing Lemon Blueberry Load. I have lazy left hand typing fingers.

