Tags

, , , , , , ,

bake books

Browsing Jones the Grocer the other day (which I must say is really lovely to look at but crazily overpriced), I saw Cindy Mushet and Sur La Table’s The Art and Soul of Baking. And I remember being at Sur La Table in April with Steve, picking up some cookie cutters, flipping through that book and instantly wanting it. I mean, a James Beard 2009 nominee and Sur La Table (oh, how I love thee!) awesomeness!

And speaking of bake books, I really want:

  • David Lebovitz’s The Sweet Life in Paris because he’s pretty darn hilarious on twitter (follow him here) and come on, lemon-glazed madeleines? Chocolate yogurt snack cakes? Dulce de leche brownies? Yeah, I thought so. Oh, and if I owned an ice cream maker, I would totally want The Perfect Scoop too.
  • Sherry Yard’s The Secrets of Baking – for a variety of tips and techniques for home bakers! And it won a James Beard award!
  • Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours – I mean, breakfast treats, cookies, cakes, brownies, spoon desserts, pies and tarts – or in other words, everything!  And seriously, how could you not want to read a book by a woman who writes, “Some woman collect diamonds, I collect mixing bowls”? I am sold.
  • Nick Malgieri and David Joachim’s Perfect Light Desserts – because really, the second part of the title says it all,  Fabulous Cakes, Cookies, Pies, and More Made with Real Butter, Sugar, Flour and Eggs, All Under 300 Calories Per Generous Serving. Real ingredients as per generous serving, I like.

And speaking of baking, check out the Peachy Plum Cake over at Baking, Empirically!

