Tags

, ,

plums

I bought this box of plums from the supermarket a week ago and today, feeling a baking itch, thought maybe I’d make a little plum galette with them (the same idea as an apple galette, just with plums!). But then I thought about apple cake at Beviamo and I was determined to embark on a little afternoon plum cake baking.

peachy plum cake

I used this Dimply Plum Cake recipe, which coincidentally originally from Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking: From My Home to Yours, which I want so badly (read more about that here). And I made slight changes, like using lemon zest instead of orange, cutting the sugar from 3/4 to 2/3 cup, adding a little clove and nutmeg to the mixture. And instead of halved plums in the batter (I didn’t have quite enough plums), I sliced them up. So I poured half the batter into the pan, covered with sliced plums, poured the other half of batter in and topped it with some fresh yellow peach.

peachy plum cake

And ta-da! It doesn’t look like much but it is delicious. I mean, DELICIOUS! Not too sweet, great texture and seriously, baked stone fruit is definitely one of my favourite things to eat, ever. Yumyumyum.

peachy plum cake

(And apologies for the yellowy pics, my house is too dark for my silly camera. Totally want a new camera to take glorious food pics now!)

