Tags

,

Last weekend, there were a couple of bananas in the house that needed saving. And instead of going the usual banana bread-muffin-cupcake route (aka the tried and true route), I thought some pie was in order. And in light of the fact that I still miss Berkeley banana cream pie (even though all that cream tends to make me sick after), I thought a banana pie might be in order…and so became this chocolate custard banana tart. It is made with a chocolate sable dough (from Karen DeMasco). I tried to make her chocolate filling too but substituting heavy cream with coconut cream (curse the lactose intolerance!) resulted in what I might call a chocolate soup. So following that, the filling is pretty much a hodgepodge of steps I can’t quite remember and a lot of experimentation. But voila! It turned out alright… thankfully

