Tags

,

Today, I bought some trout at the Trinity Bellwoods Farmers Market – really fresh, no antibiotics and hormones and organic! This reminded me of the trout “meatballs” I made a little while back. After a few dinners of grilled fish, I was craving a little something different, so this was take on pasta and meatballs. You cook the trout first, then flake it and mash it up together with bread crumbs, onions, garlic, basil and egg. Then shape them into little balls (or you can make patties if you’d like) and you can either cook them in a frying pan or in the oven. And they’re pretty mighty tasty, if you ask me, though not really the healthiest. We served  these on a bed of pasta with broccoli and spinach (just boiled and seasoned slightly) or if you want a lighter meal, a nice leafy salad would work nicely too.

Next time, I’m going to try eggplant+tofu meatballs… now, that sounds yummers.

