Tags

,

Ever since I saw this post on bastilla, I’ve been dreaming of it’s scrumptiousness. I will admit that it’s kind of ridiculous to crave a meat pie when I don’t eat meat – but it’s more the thought of the aroma of curry mingling with cinnamon… and raisins, have I told you about how much I love raisins in savoury foods (like  my obsession with couscous with raisins)? Well, I do!

So instead of chicken, I used portobello mushrooms. Other ingredients were: lemon juice, onions, sweet potatoes, raisins, olive oil, salt&pepper, garlic, cinnamon, curry powder, ginger, feta cheese, sliced almonds, confectioner’s sugar and puff pastry (I originally intended to buy phyllo but our supermarket well, sucks). So basically, peel and boil the sweet potatoes, then dice the onions and mushrooms and sautee them in a pan with the spices (I usually just eyeball the amounts) and lemon juice. Then, prep the puff pastry and lay it in the baking pan. When the onions are nice and soft, add the sweet potatoes and raisins and let the whole pan simmer for a while, then take it off the heat. Once it has cooled enough to stop steaming, scoop it into baking pan and top it off with the mixture of almonds + sugar  and crumbles of feta cheese. Then, cover it with the rest of the pastry (you can eggwash the top of the pastry to get a nice brown – I didn’t, which explains the total lack of a golden finish on my pie), pop it into the oven and bake until the pastry is nicely browned.

Slice, serve and enjoy!

Now if I only I can get my hands on some phyllo…..

