Tags

, ,

 

Yesterday evening, it was pouring. I don’t know how I managed to make it  for yoga after that full day of first aid training, in time and not drenched at that (and thankfully I did, or I would have missed out on my first time balancing in hand stand for a good 5 seconds without the wall!). By the time I got home, it was 8pm and I was starving. So I rummaged through the fridge, found an avocado that was going a little soft and remembered reading about this 15 minute creamy avocado pasta. And a short time after, I was digging into a bowl of creamy deliciousness. This pasta is so good, it’s pretty much like eating pasta coated in guacamole and since I have an ongoing lovelove relationship with avocadoes, I pretty much died on first bite.

Here is a general recipe for what I did, you can pretty much substitute most of the ingredients like pasta or the accompanying vegetables, or omit stuff like basil or cheese:

  • Ingredients: Linguine, 1 avocado, the juice of 1/2 a lemon, basil, 1 clove of garlic, shredded cheese, a drizzle of olive oil, peas and carrots.
  1. Boil pasta in a pot of boiling water until al dente.
  2. Boil peas and carrots. (I like to boil mine together with the pasta but only throw them in the last few minutes – saves pots & washing!)
  3. In the meantime, make avocado cream by blending together the avocado, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, basil.
  4. Once pasta is done, toss with avocado cream and cheese.
  5. Plate, serve and enjoy!

That’s it! Sounds easy, right? Well, it is! Have fun!

 

