Tags

, , , , , , ,

So yesterday’s public holiday was a nice mid-week break. I took the chance to try out a couple of new things – first, using this tutorial as a guide, I made some ombre dyed place cards for the wedding. The closest dye colours I could find in the store were rose pink and beige (I omitted the brown spectrum), so I ended up with somewhat of a pink/beige spectrum (funny though that the beige is really like a light, light brown and the pinks came out a little more pink than I’d like… think maybe some dye adjustments need to be made on my part). I also got a little mix between the two by letting the cards soak in the beige for a few minutes before moving them to the lightest pink solution for a little  (somehow the effect was different from the ones soaked in the pink/beige dye combination). I am thinking if I am up for attempt #2, maybe this time, I can work on a blue/grey spectrum as well.

Then the family and I went off for brunch at Kith Cafe at Robertson Quay. I had a scrambled egg and mushroom toastie with avocado on the side, with a watermelon lychee freeze (yummers). It was nice to just sit back and relax by the river, I am definitely a fan of the laid-back, fuss-free vibe (I even got a little colour on my shoulders from walking the zumster up & down the stretch, waiting for boats to go by).

In the evening, I made some healthy baked veggie fries as a side for dinner. These were delicious, crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. More please!

{Baked Veggie Fries}

What you need: 1 sweet potato + 1 zucchini + 1 eggplant (all cut into strips, I cut the sweet potato strips slightly thinner than the rest), bread crumbs, 2 egg whites, grated parmesan, herbs of your choice

  1. Preheat oven to 218C (or 475F), line baking trays with parchment paper, lightly oil the top.
  2.  To make bread crumbs: Toast 2 pieces of bread, pulse in food processor. Or buy in the store.
  3. Beat egg whites till frothy.
  4. Mix bread crumbs with parmesan, salt & pepper, herbs of your choice (I used dried basil).
  5. Dip veggie strips in egg white, then coat with bread crumb mix. Make sure it is coated on all sides.
  6. Place strips on baking tray, try not to overcrowd strips or place them on top of one another.
  7. Bake in oven for 20 minutes (I took mine out halfway through to turn them over).
  8. Enjoy!
  • You can use those leftover egg yolks to make some hollandaise  or aioli for dipping! Or some lemon curd for a totally unrelated project or creme brulee! See here for more options.
