Tags

, , ,

So here’s another easy weekday dinner post: a pressed sandwich, roasted sweet potatoes and a slice of strawberry banana bread. I made my sandwich with spinach, aruguala, avocado (I have the most intense craving for avocados recently and want to put them in just about everything), organic cheddar and a fried egg – pressed it together with the griddler (love that thing!) and ta da! A delicious toasty crispy sandwich, all melty cheese and creamy avocado with each bite.

For the sweet potatoes, wash and scrub the sweet potatoes, then cut them up – I like to leave the skin on, it kind of adds a nice textural contrast to the potatoes. Coat the sweet potatoes with olive oil, salt & pepper, a dash of maple syrup and a sprinkling of cinnamon, nutmeg and toased sesame seeds (I think I might prefer black sesame seeds over the white ones). Then bake them in the oven at 200 degrees Celsius, for about 15 minutes per side. I like to finish them off with a 1-2 minute high grill (this is possibly the broil function on most ovens) to give the skin a crunch, but be sure to watch that they don’t burn!

For the strawberry banana bread, I used this recipe and loved how it turned out. It’s toasty around the edges and soft and moist on the inside. And can I just say that it is absolutely true, browned butter makes everything so much better! And the best thing is, you can have a slice for dessert and a slice the next morning for breakfast (like I did this morning!) and there’s still some left for lunch and a snack and …… !

