Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Looking back on Twenty.eleven,

I started a new job,
the boy came to visit,
we watched the little Summer grow right up,
I had my moments,
I started some DIY projects (glitter shoes, mossy letters, flower poms, wedding DIY, bunting cards, tie dye, advent calendar…),
enjoyed some acroyoga goodness,
spent lots of time in the kitchen cooking (bastilla, spinach dumplings, minestrone, everything burritos, zucchini fritters, shepherd’s piepolenta stacks)…
and baking (ricotta donuts, lemony steamed pudding, ricotta muffins, pb pie, cake donuts, nutella pinwheels, lemon layer cake, mochi cupcakes….),
watched some great videos (symmetry, giant xylophones, bunnies, Splitscreen, Marcel the Shell, skyliners…),
discovered some amazing music (Robin Pecknold & Ed Droste, Cataldo, Head & the Heart, Joe Purdy, Milk Carton Kids, Patrick Watson, Ben Howard, Lisa Hannigan, Michael Kiwanuka, Lianne La Havas, James Vincent McMorrow…),
turned twenty.six,
captured lots of weekend snippets,
took an epic trip up to beautiful beautiful Canada,
we got married ♥,
the boy moved to the ‘lil island (and we took him on a gastronomic tour of KL),
we celebrated Halloween,
then, a little wedding reception for friends & family in Singapore,
and ended the year off with some Christmas celebrations and New Years Eve in Bali.

There were so many good things that happened, so many great moments, but most of all, when I look back on the year, I am most grateful that it has allowed the boy and I to be together… in the same place, at the same time, finally. But still, and maybe more so than ever, I feel like I am searching for something, or perhaps still discovering what a fully satisfying life would be for me. And that’s kind of a tall order, isn’t it?

Farewell, TwentyEleven.

{Photo by Whitney Justesen)

