Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Pineapple tarts are definitely a Chinese New Year tradition. They are golden, buttery, sweet sour and sinful – what’s not to love? Like last year, we set out some extra time in the kitchen to make our own this year.  We made the pineapple jam the night before and stored in the fridge for cooling – I grated the pineapples this year, cooked together with sugar and lemon juice and some nutmeg, cinnamon & cloves for spice. I cooked the jam a little different this year, instead of just leaving everything in the pot to cook, I put the grated pineapple through a colander and kept the juice separate. Then, I let the mixture cook till the liquids have mostly evaporated before adding in more juice (and I repeated this until all the juice was in the pot). I think this method allows for the pineapple to caramelize more evenly… but who knows?

The pastry was made by combining butter, eggs and icing sugar to a flour & cornflour mixture. Then, the pastry was rolled and the tarts were cut out, filled with pineapple jam and brushed with egg wash before going in the oven.

We also made rolled tarts by rolling the pastry out in a sheet, piping a layer of pineapple jam and then rolling the pastry over to make little logs which were cut and put in the oven. 

They were pretty good, if I say so myself. The pastry was surprisingly light and the jam was just the right amount of sweet sour. I am going to experiment with maybe adding more liquids into my pastry recipe to lend a little more moistness to the tart and maybe increasing the salt for a more salty sweet taste. Yum!

