Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have a little confession to make. Sometimes, I get into these dinner zones where all I want to make is a certain kind of food. A few weeks ago, I had to try really hard to make something that wasn’t a variation of black beans, avocado and corn. Sometime back, I wanted only to make spicy, hearty Indian food. Well most recently, I have been stuck on a Thai food kick. In a little over a week, I have made two pad thai dinners and one green curry –  and I have a sneaking suspicion it’s not quite over yet. 

You see, I’ve been trying to perfect this pad thai recipe. Or rather, I am trying to perfect this pad thai sauce – because the sauce really is everything here. The first time, a little too much tamarind; the second time, a little too much fish sauce. The fine balance between sweet, salty, sour and spicy is tricky, to say the least. I have also veered outside the classic pad thai by adding a whole variety of leafy greens to the mix – if anything, I am a greens over noodles kind of girl. And the last challenge? Working on wok-frying skills – the constant stirring and tossing of the food is hard work. So you see, many more reasons for more pad thai dinners (hopefully, with no complaints from the boy)!

If you want to try making pad thai, I’d recommend this recipe by Chez Pim (so thorough) or this recipe by Thai Table. Have fun!

