Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

cracker

Recently, I’ve been looking for some alternatives for a healthier snack. I won’t lie, on grocery runs, I have to tell myself to stay away from the chips – in fact, of late, I’ve taken to skipping the middle aisles completely. Well, last week, I made these balsamic-roasted plums and they are a nice little way to jazz up the average snack. They are also especially great if the plums you got are a little sour (the stone fruit we get here in Singapore are rarely sweet & juicy like the ones in Cal).  plumspancake stack

I used them for just about everything. For breakfast, they are great in yoghurt parfaits or as an accompaniment to oatmeal or pancakes. For a snack, try it on top of a cracker with some ricotta cheese. For dessert, you can serve them with a scoop of ice cream and a little bit of fresh mint.

Best part? They’re really simple to make. Just slice your plums up into wedges, toss in a bowl with some balsamic vinegar and a little olive oil, then roast them in the oven for about 15-20 minutes at 200C. Let cool, then store them in an airtight container in the fridge and enjoy!

